The Association for Commuter Transportation recognizes and honors outstanding achievements in the field of transportation demand management. The 2016 awards will be presented at the ACT International Conference in Portland, OR, on August 3, 2016.

Those eligible for the awards include individuals, public and private sector agencies, businesses, non-profit organizations, colleges and universities, business associations, transportation management associations and transportation providers.

Nominations must be submitted by an ACT member in good standing. Nominees do not need to be an ACT member. Self-nominations are accepted and encouraged.

A copy of the nomination packet and questions for each award can be downloaded here.

Nomination for 2016 ACT National Awards must be submitted by April 16, 2016 (noon EST)

Award Categories

Employee Transportation Champion Award

The ETC Champion Award is presented to an ETC that best demonstrates a commitment to promoting and advancing commuter transportation options at their worksite.

Marketing and Outreach Awards

The Marketing and Outreach Award recognizes four categories of organizations (Public, University, Partnership, and TMA) that have developed and implemented a promotion; or marketing campaign that was designed to educate and inform the public, employees, tenants, and/or students about their commuting options or the broader ideas of transportation planning, impacts of transportation on the environment, or other related or concerns.  The promotion, or marketing campaign has demonstrated a high level of creativity and originality and generated a significant response, increased awareness and/or resulted or demonstrated an innovative and creative rejuvenation of previous or existing TDM program.

Commuting Options Awards

The Commuting Options Awards recognizes an exemplary program, policy, or service that advances one of the following commuting options: biking, walking, public transit, carpooling, vanpooling, telecommuting, and shared use mobility. The program, policy, or service should have clear goals and demonstrate progress towards achieving those goals. One award will be presented for each of the commuting options listed.

Outstanding TMA Award

The outstanding TMA Award is presented to the TMA that is judged to have best used its public/private partnerships to achieve local or regional transportation goals.

Excellence in Advocacy Award

The Excellence in Advocacy Award acknowledges and ACT member whose advocacy efforts on behalf of TDM, whether at the local, state, and/or federal level have been exceptional. The award celebrates effort, innovation, efficiency, and effectiveness and includes both individual advocacy efforts along with the organization and encouragement of others’ participation in advocacy.

Excellence in Research

The Excellence in Research Award acknowledges an ACT member or organization for recent research in transportation demand management, one of its sub disciplines, or in a related field when the research demonstrates applicability to TDM goals. Collaborative efforts may be recognized so long as one member of the team is an ACT member.

Bob Owens Champion Award

The Bob Owens Award was created to recognize individuals who have spent a number of years supporting transportation demand management and influencing positive local, regional, and/or national change in this arena. It’s expected that any award winner in this category provide ongoing influence and change, not necessarily just one major event or a year or two of events.

Cathy Cole Memorial Award for Telework

The Cathy Cole Memorial Award for telework recognizes individuals or organizations that have demonstrated leadership and achievement in advancing strategies to enable and encourage more employers to adopt telework arrangements for employees through one or more of the following:  facilitating collaboration between business and government, developing successful regional programs, improving job access, developing information resources, securing grants, cultivating and sustaining interest within the TDM profession and/or increasing technical training opportunities.

Back to Top